Week 11 – Christmas Tree Adventures

A little dusting of snow made everything beautiful and white for our big Christmas tree adventure!

A little dusting of snow made everything beautiful and white for our big Christmas tree adventure!

Since moving to this area just over 3.5 years ago we’ve loved harvesting our own Christmas tree.  For a mere $5, you can get your very own tree from just about anywhere on Forest Service land.  And around here, that’s a lot of land!  When you have kids however, you tend to stick to areas with trees relatively close to roads.  As long as you’re 100 feet from a road or stream, it’s yours.  We found our tree on a cliff just off of the Old Yellowstone Road near Yankee Jim Canyon.  Garrett helped us with the selection, hugged a few we’ll visit in future years, and even tried to help cut it down.  After getting our tree we enjoyed some homemade pizza, and decorated.  A full and lovely day!

One thought on “Week 11 – Christmas Tree Adventures

  1. Bianca, I am so enjoying your photos! And I think I met your family (husband and kids) over at the Community Center- I recognize Avery (she is sooooo cute!). While looking at your photos, I am seeing some familiar sights. I have more photos of elk than I know what to do with! I really like the one of your kids looking out the window at one! I’m impressed with the light you are getting in your house; this Thanksgiving I used my speedlight on many of the days I was there. Happy Clicking!

Leave a Reply

