Monthly Challenge: Shallow Depth of Field

Just after my daughter was born, I began searching for photographic inspiration on the web.  Like many right-brained moms with somewhat boring day jobs, I purchased a DSLR to fulfill that creative need, and wanted to capture photos of her with that lovely, dreamy, blurry background that I soon found to be called bokeh.  It wasn’t until several months later that a Clickin Moms Pro friend of mine from our military days recommended I check out Clickin Moms, and as they say, “the rest is history…”

It was that beautiful bokeh, accomplished by shooting with a shallow depth of field (wide open aperture) that drew me to photography and the quest to learn how to do it better myself.   I have so much yet to learn, but I have to thank my friend and the Clickin Moms community for all the help along the way.  It’s been just over a year since I switched the camera to manual, and I am so glad I did.  And without further ado, here are some photos with lovely (if I don’t say so myself) bokeh shot at a shallow depth of field.

To see other amazing examples of shallow depth of field, follow the blog circle around to Jennifer Reynold’s fabulous blog HERE.

IMG_5624Garrett enjoying a quick snack (something with peanut butter perhaps?) along the Firehole River.  Taken at f/2.5, ISO 100, SS 1/400 with my nifty 50 mm.IMG_5629A shooting star blooming along the Firehole River taken at f/3.5, ISO 100, SS 1/500 also taken with my 50 mm lens.IMG_2605This shot was taken shortly after a prescribed burn was conducted near Yankee Jim Canyon.  It’s amazing how burned areas are the first to green up in the valley each year.  The surrounding hills are still brown, but every burned area is bright with fresh green grass.  This super shallow depth of field shows you the bokeh sandwich you can capture at wide open apertures.  This was taken at f/2.5 on a 50 mm lens, ISO 100, SS 1/1250.

6 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge: Shallow Depth of Field

  1. What a handsome shot of your son! I love reading your posts each month as I get a little more insight into your beautiful surroundings. Gorgeous images!

  2. The scenery is so beautiful! My favorite is also that of your son, and I like how the trees look with the shallow DOF.

Leave a Reply

