Week 52 – Simplify

IMG_7810 2

Simplify.  That’s my word for 2014.  As a planner, I enjoy jotting down a list (or two or three) at the beginning of each year with my personal goals.  Last year was my first year with actual photography goals, and those goals kept me shooting.  I’ve struggled with what goals or personal projects to embark on this year and have decided to seek out light, and try to work on and review the basics.  With those two goals in mind I’ll be posting about once a month with photos where I’ve been successful at “Finding the Light” and will be posting any assignments that come with studying David duChemin’s book the The Visual Toolbox.  The big scary, yet exciting, Project 365 goal will be revisited again later this year after I’ve gone back to basics and simplified a bit.

There will still be running, and lots of it for a race or two this year, so I plan to continue “My Running View” but will probably have fewer posts only highlighting some of the more notable and exciting trails or views to share.  With our big cabin build complete there will be lots of small projects in our future, but also plenty of time to start exploring again this summer with our tent camper.  And with camping comes night skies and new landscape astrophotography opportunities.

As my Project 52 comes to a close, I am grateful to have completed it, and look forward to 2014 with more simplified goals in mind…and hopefully lots of starry skies and more memorable outdoor exposures!

 

 

Leave a Reply

